Wallet Security

I see from the discussions on Ian’s hack experience that there are a lot of security questions. While I am not an IT expert, I’ve been around the block enough in life as well as computers, crypto, and technology to maybe offer some guidance to newbies. Here are some ideas that can be used individually or in tandem to protect your crypto’s.

First it is incredibly important to manage your passwords thru a management system such as Last Pass. Last Pass allows me to generate very complex passwords for each and every app that requires credentials. It allows me to cut and paste passwords as opposed to manually typing them in, which bypasses malware key logger programs. So there’s only one password you ever need to remember. It doesn’t have to be a complex string of characters. Length is important. Use a saying… “Fourscore and twenty years ago”…”I only regret that I have but one life to give”. Then write it down and put it in a secure place. Last Pass settings allow an auto log out after some period of inactivity as well as an auto log out when you close your browser. This is a feature that is critical as a friend of mine learned. She hired an online computer tech support outfit from India. They had her install Team Viewer on her machine so they could “help” her. She did not have Last Pass configured to auto log out so when they logged on to her PC without her knowledge, Last Pass was open and they cleaned out every wallet on her PC. She lost 16,000 dollars that night.